skip to content

Degree Committee for the Faculty of Physics & Chemistry



The constitution of the Degree Committee specifies that its membership is derived from that of the Faculty Board, minus the student members, but with a separate Degree Committee Secretary, who deals with day-to-day business on behalf of the Degree Committee. The current members are:

Class (a) (4): Dr James Keeler (Chemistry), Prof. Richard McMahon (Astronomy), Prof. Paul Midgley (Materials Science & Metallurgy), Prof. Andy Parker (Physics)

Class (b) (2): Dr Richard Batley (Physics), Prof. Sophie Jackson (Chemistry)

Class (c) (8): Prof. Serena Best (Materials Science & Metallurgy), Prof. Ruth Cameron (Materials Science & Metallurgy), Prof. Gerry Gilmore (Astronomy)*, Prof. Malte Grosche (Physics), Prof. Ulrich Keyser (Physics), Dr William Nolan (Chemistry), Dr Ulrich Schneider (Physics), Prof. David Spring (Chemistry)

Class (d) (3): Prof. Caterina Ducati (Materials Science & Metallurgy), Mrs Angela Macharia (Astronomy), Dr Howard Jones (Chemistry)


Secretary (ex officio):


Meeting papers

Degree Committee Members may access papers for the next meeting at the Committee's Moodle course (Raven login needed).

If you can't find the page you are looking for or find a broken link do let us know (please use the 'Contact us' link below).

Office closures

The DC 'remote' Office will be closed from 3pm on Friday 28 August 2020 for the August Bank Holiday. We reopen at 9am on Tuesday 1 September 2020.

Meetings schedule

Meetings of the Degree Committee and Degree Ceremonies: